January 16

A River Runs Thought It – Lit Exploration

What is your opinion that an individual’s life can be altered by a particular experience?

We are the sum of our experiences, some which can change the course of our life. Throughout life, individuals encounter diverse and new experiences that change their life. Life-changing experiences are events in an individual’s life that have a significant impact on their opinion, attitude, and life. The film “A river runs through it,” directed by Robert Redford shows the dilemma the main character face between dreams versus reality and the events that change his life. I have faced similar circumstances in my life as I struggled to find a career I wanted to after high school but faced the obstacles of reality. In the film “A river runs through it” Reverend Mclean is forever changed by the death of his son and had to face reality. An individual’s life can be impacted and altered by particular experiences that cause them to rethink their ideas and face reality.

In the film “A river runs through it” directed by Robert Redford, the main character Norman Mclean has to balance his dreams with the reality of his situation. Norman after going to college for 6 years comes back to Montana. With desire is to become a forestry officer, but when he tells his father, Reverend Mclean, his ideal he picks up his red pen, which symbolizes that Normon was making a mistake. The experience in his father’s study causes Normon to change his goals and ambitions, and in turn, changed the course of his life. This shows how Normal can never achieve his ideals because of his father’s expectations. And shows how when faced with adversity Norman chose to follow what he bleve is the reality of the situation.

In the film “A river runs through it” directed by Robert Redford, the parents are devastated and forever changed by the death of their son Paul. In one scene Normon was called down to the police station to be informed that Paul was beaten to death by the bud of a revolver. When he told this news to his parents a draft formed between them, Paul who once brought joy and happiness to the family was gone. The loss of a child can have a great impact on a parent and cause them to face the reality of the situation. As the film progresses the idea that Paul was a golden boy faded and the reality that there was a dark side to paul started to appear. After this experience there is a change in Reverend Mclean who once walked tall was now appeared small and hunched. After this event, the parents have lost the meaning of their life and only live to survive.

The new experiences I have gained in high school have caused me to change my ideas of what my ideal career would be in the wake of reality. When I first made my transition into high school I had what I now know were unrealistic dreams. The experiences that made me rethink my ideals were when I realized I was struggling in physics and that I couldn’t reach my goal. They made me rethink what I wanted in my life and future.

An individual’s life can be impacted and altered by particular experiences that cause them to rethink their ideas and face reality. In the film “A river runs through it,” Normon has to accept the reality that he can’t achieve has ideal. Reverend Mclean has to rethink his life and face the reality of Paul. I personally have to face the reality of what I can achieve and the future. As an individual gains experiences, they change their ideals.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Posted January 16, 2020 by ajitpal in category Ajitpal, Sept 2019

1 thoughts on “A River Runs Thought It – Lit Exploration

  1. hashimm

    Overall great format, and great examples from the film. I would suggest you go deeper into your personal examples and increase the element of “Voice” for your essay. Other than that, I am personally impressed with your writing.

    -Hashim

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*