October 15

The Day the Sun God Blinked

The fiery haired demons wound the bright ropes tighter and tighter till my hands could no longer feel anything or fight for the freedom they longed for.

“Up!” A beastly woman cried at me, whilst jerking my bound hands up to force me vertical. I was too young to understand or overpower my captors-I was afraid. I feared the sick reason I was bound to tight and forced to a plank of wood, which now served as my spine, for my legs wanted to give out and I could no longer hold my muscles in the strangely straight position the had me in. “Move!” they shoved me forward, towards the blessed daylight that I hadn’t seen for what seemed like years. When did the sun rise that day, and what day was it- too young and tried to know. I obeyed, barefoot I stepped out into the cold November snow and gave them no sign of my discomfort; I feared what they would do to me if I did. They led me to two tall trees- century old mammoths- capable of supporting this 92 pound girl on a board. The Redheaded wenches hoisted me up and sat my sturdy plank between the two trees. I stared at the white ground below me and shivered as I felt the frozen autumn wind cut through my shabby prison frock; the only clothes I had in the world. The ropes cut into my chest, legs, belly and head; the ever bright snow burned the white images into my eyes while my blonde hair tickled my face. Help! I cried in my mind, why won’t anyone help me, someone please help me! My muffled cries were filled with the bitter taste of the brightly colored rope.

“Stay here.” I heard the larger one command. “Watch the prisoner.”, And I heard footsteps crunch through the snow. I could hear nothing but the sounds of machines whir and hum outside, I could see nothing but the painful white of the snow blinding me, and I could feel nothing but the cool breeze pushing my hair around my face; I began to lose hope for everything. Why did these heathens choose me? Was it because I was small, weak, and vulnerable? Or, perhaps, it was because I blindly followed their enticing siren song of ‘come join us’. The silhouette of the leader and her heavy set footsteps returned, I couldn’t pay attention to them though, a strand of my hair had found a secret spot that only I knew could bother me and my hands longed once again to satisfy the sensation.

“Let the ceremony commence”. Slowly I noticed that the sun had begun to fade away from the November frost- Impossible! It was too bright before to be sunset. “The sun god is growing hungry!” The smaller one exclaimed with fear and a strange desire in her voice. Sun god? OF COURSE! It was the day of the solar eclipse; my team had been setting up to capture pictures of it, that was, before, the tribes found us and accused us of desecrating their secret grove. I remembered it all now, It all flashed back to me! Those primitive beings actually thought that the sun wanted my blood- this was a Sacrifice! I started to struggle more and more against my restraints; the rope biting and burning me in the dry heat of my panic. Their feet appeared on both sides of me as they prepared me for the demonic ritual. One placed their hand on my arm that was tied back behind the board when suddenly an angel called back and froze them and my unholy fate with two of her melodious words.

“Girls, Supper!” and just like that play time was over, and my sisters and I rushed in the house to eat our well-earned feast, all because the sun god that day, blinked.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: , ,

Posted October 15, 2013 by squeekykiwi in category Kiwi, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*