January 17

The River Runs Through it Literary Exploration

During our lifetimes, there are many people who have created or accomplished amazing feats. Their pathway in order to achieve those goals are awe inspiring as well. Other’s actions, either positive or negative, either people who are very close or and admired hero can change the outcome of your actions and shift your beliefs into doing what is right. In the film, The RIver Runs Through it  by Robert Redford exemplifies this idea through the one of the main characters, Norman Maclean. He struggles to help his brother through many depressing and dark situations ,but still finds motivation to help him. The values and teachings of his father largely contributed to his drive.

Norman as a child was deeply influenced by his father and his works within the church. He looked up to his father and seeked approval from him constantly through childhood and into his adult life. His actions would always be monitored by the father at a young age and was corrected many times as well; therefore sprouting his belief that he should not disappoint anybody, doing whatever he can in order to ensure another person’s happiness. Norman never wanted to disappoint his father even during adulthood with complete independence. During his return to his home state after many years of college, he was summoned by his father into the study. Norman was being judged. Initially he wanted to work for the United States Forestry Service but quickly faced with criticism from his father. Norman quickly replied with the fact that he would apply for a teaching position. Again Norman’s decision to become a professor was influenced by the father with criticism but also many years of observing the father’s ministry. There is not a significant difference between teaching literature and teaching religion, only the subject. Norman did not want to disappoint his father and please him so he decided on a profession that would guarantee approval from his father.

Similarly to Norman, I was also deeply influenced by my father and his actions. Norman’s experience with his father’s actions did not negatively change his life. My experience was very different. When I was born, I was faced with the challenge of having divorced parents. I did not understand what it meant but I knew Mommy and Daddy lived in different places and that was not right. Making other people cry, I also knew was not right but apparently not my father. After a lengthy phone call between my mother and father, the seven year old child that I was saw my mother crying and I couldn’t resist from helping and crying along. My father hurt my mom very deeply, so I vowed to myself to never hurt anyone and make anyone happy. Another similarity to Norman and his desire to please everybody. Which for me and Norman, grew from what our fathers actions. I made another promise to myself that day. Far in the future, I would hold the ideology and the values present in marital vows close to my heart. Breaking these vows was not an option. I never want the person I love to go through what my mother did, I never want my children to go through what I had to.

An excerpt from “I Beat the Odds” by Michael Oher outlines his early inspiration from a fourth-grade teacher, Ms. Verlene Logan. This teacher work above and beyond all expectations for any teacher in any grade. She worked hard to include every student and created an environment that fostered inner talent of students. She achieved this through constant reminder of every child’s importance and intelligence. Her catch-phrase, ‘“Can’t never could and ain’t never would”’ told all students to never give up and believe in your strengths. Michael Oher a during that grade was athletically gifted and was praised and recognized by Ms. Logan. The continuous encouragement allowed Michael to have self affirmation in his abilities throughout life and eventually succeed.

The actions of other people, no matter good or bad will always change our ideologies and values to reflect what we think is right. Close relatives, mentors and heroes drastically affect your life and future decisions. Norman wishes for approval of others and especially his father so that they can be happy. Because of my father, I want the people I cherish to be happy through my actions, Michael Oher was happy in achieving success because of his fourth-grade teacher, Ms Verlene Logan. Knowing what and who has shaped your beliefs can help you grasp the values in your life and make decision according to your idea of righteousness.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: ,

Posted January 17, 2018 by orionw in category Orion, Sept 2017

1 thoughts on “The River Runs Through it Literary Exploration

  1. marthasb

    Orion,
    I was very moved by this piece I am very happy that you wrote that personal experience of yours. However, I know you might not feel the same way but it brought me to tears, I loved who well you transitioned and shifted but also how well you kind of wrapped up this critical. Yet, it easily flowed altogether. Once again thank you for sharing this piece it was very well written.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*