September 19

This I Believe

 

Related image

https://tinybuddha.com/blog/50-ways-to-find-inspiration-create-explore-expand/

I believe in the power of books. I believe that all people should have the right to access and read books in today’s society. I believe that books can be source of inspiration or life changer to people depending on who reads them. I have read books since I was young and learned of the knowledge that they can contain regardless of how good or bad the book is. Books have become more mainstream and can now be easily accessible to everyone regardless of their race, gender, beliefs, and etc… . Books have widened my horizons as they have introduced me to new things/topics that we don’t usually hear or discuss in society.

 

Books broadened my perspective of things when I realized that there are people out there who been through and experienced a lot more then I could imagine in my current life. An example of this was when I read “I am Malala”. This book talks about a young girl who tries to stand up for one of her freedoms, which was the freedom to learn, the freedom for education. But gets shot by the Taliban for trying to make a movement and spread the message. This hit me hard as though I knew things like this could happen throughout; I only had shallow understanding of it, so when thoroughly reading it, it was hard to accept that it was reality. It made me question my current lifestyle, my values and beliefs, and whether or not I could do the same actions as her to stand up for something I believe in. Through reading this book it expanded my horizons and gave me a deeper understanding on human nature; as to how courageous people can be towards their beliefs and how cruel people can be to silence others.

 

Books are one of the easiest ways to spread the message. Their messages can vary depending on what the writers intention is for their book. Books taught me that there isn’t always one right answer towards a question. People can take different approaches towards the problem to make their own right answer. Books can provide a different perspective towards things which can allow a person to see things differently; expanding their knowledge and increasing the number of options they have to solve a problem. Books are one of the few things that have existed since ancient times and have continued to develop throughout modern times. I believe that we as a society will continue to make books as a source of knowledge and entertainment for as long we continue to grow and develop.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: , ,

Posted September 19, 2018 by talham in category Sept 2018, Talha

2 thoughts on “This I Believe

  1. angelasia

    Dear Talha,

    Your, “This I believe” was wonderful to read. Especially the statement,”I believe in the power of books”. Your piece is something that a lot of people can relate to. Reading a book gives people the power of knowledge, new concepts, and perspectives; and that in the end, you learn from the book whether or not it’s a good or bad book. This is what I really liked from your piece. I liked how you reflected this statement onto your life.

    When it comes to improvements, I think you should improve on punctuation, grammar, and word use. Your blog is already very strong, because you’ve backed up your ideas using your own personal examples; but I think that in some cases, you should be more cautious with the words you add in. It may hinder the flow of the sentence with unnecessary wording. By doing this, your blog (which is already very detailed) can become more stronger and influential than it already is.

    Overall, I agree with your blog. I do believe that books are very influential and that everyone should have access to them because they portray a certain type of message. Amazing insight, and thoughts!

    Sincerely,

    Angela

    Reply
  2. breannarodeoqueen

    Dear Talha,
    As a fellow avid reader your “This I Believe” was very captivating to me. The way that you described the influence of books in your life was very interesting to me. At our young age we all often feel as though we are missing real life experiences and I very much enjoyed hearing that you counteract that by reading about real life situations. I very much enjoyed hearing about what you learned in regards to the human condition from such a powerful book such as “I am Malala”. With this book containing real life struggles that we often don’t have to worry about as Canadian citizens I am amazed with the way that you allowed these ideas into your mind and were able to learn from and about them.

    Though your piece amazed me I do believe that with some editing on more creative word choices you would be able to make this piece of writing that much more intriguing.

    Sincerely, Breanna.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*