November 9

My Rant on Graduation Night

If I was given the honor of speaking at my graduation about my life this would be my rant.

 

Oooooo man! Never thought I would have the opportunity to do such a thing. Standing here. On the stage. In my grad gown. Standing in front of you all. First of all, for those of you who don’t know me, I’m surprised, but Hi my name is Zaha!

Before I start talking about anything I would like to quote my one and only, Drake, “ Starting from the bottom now we here….” Who ever thought that we would actually make it here. Because honestly I would have never thought that I would be here. I didn’t even think I would get past middle school. But I’m glad I did.

I came to this school in grade 5. The beginning of middle school was rough. But honestly middle school is never easy, and it made me who I am today. Everyone that I met is incredible in some way, but there are on some people that I really connected with. Honestly, there are some people that I just wish I got more of a chance to get to know. But I feel like I’m not the only one who feels like this. Then high school came along. This is a topic that I can talk forever about but I won’t. I will just talk about the main things. DRAMA. DRAMA. DRAMA. I think that’s it. Just kidding. Yea some things happened in middle school, some things happened in high school and are still occurring. But does it all really matter. I don’t really think I’m going to remember the bad things, just the good things. For me its the good times that I will remember. The bad stays where it should be, in its place, in the past. Where it started is where it ended.

One of my friends ended up leaving the school last year. I only got to know her for a year, but we made some great memories together. I still stay in contact with her and whenever we talk it feels like we’ve known each other forever. Together we reminisce on the good times that we had together, with all of our friends. I miss her yes, but I  know that she is happy where ever she is.

High school is where i made majority of my incredible memories and this where I found my TRUE friends. ALLOW ME TO EMPHASIZE THE WORD TRUE. People that I can go to for help. The friends that I can tell anything and know that they won’t open their mouth. The people who can rely on me and I can rely on them. People who can be myself around and not be afraid to be judged. Those people I found in high school and are all my really good friends.  You all know who you are. Thank you!

In the beginning I never thought that high school would be like the movie series high school musical. But in some ways it was. I think everyone can agree with that. However it wasn’t as exaggerated.  

I would like to thank all of you for many things. This is where the list begins. Thank you for being who you are. Thank you for accepting one another. Thank you for accepting me. Thank you for not being fake to my face. Thank you for being some what honest. Thank you for your help. Thank you for standing up for what you believe in. Thank you to all of the teachers you all made learning a lot easier, especially by using Quizlet Live. Learning became a game. Thank you. 

We all are incredibly talented people, and different too. I personally hope to stay in contact with you all in the future. I am hopeful to see us all successful, and I wonder where time will take us all.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Posted November 9, 2017 by zahakh in category Sept 2017, Zaha

3 thoughts on “My Rant on Graduation Night

  1. suhaani20

    Dear Zaha,

    I think this is by far the best Grad speech I have ever heard. I only had the pleasure to get to know for 2 years but I think that is more than enough. You are someone with the purest heart and I can guarantee if you get the change to give this speech at our grad then you would have everyone in tears. There was so much truth to it and I had a smile on my face the whole time I was reading this. This a beautiful piece filled with love is a memorable one.

    It is my absolute honor to read this piece and call you my friend.
    You have been amazingly beautifully for ever and don’t ever change babe. I hope you have a successful and future filled with only happiness.

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was beautifully written <3.

    With Love,
    Suhaani

    Reply
  2. muskaanr

    Dear Zaha,

    This piece has been amazingly written. I love the fact that it demonstrates the real you. I could hear your voice while I was reading this piece. I loved the line where you said, “Learning became a game.” It shows that although Grade 12 is a tough year for most people, there are still memories that we can cherish for the rest of our lives.

    One thing I would work on is punctuation and just tiny errors in your writing. An example of this is: “People who can be myself around and not be afraid to be judged.” By using the word be twice makes the reader not understand what you are trying to say. Maybe rephrase it would make a difference.

    Overall the idea of your graduation rant is so creative. I absoultely loved this piece!

    Love,

    Muskaan

    Reply
  3. eeshana

    Dear Zaha,

    I have been reading this post over and over again; I am unable to contain my laughter along with my sense of gratitude. For being able to read this and call you one of my friends. You wrote this with pure brilliance as it had the right amount of heart and humour. I feel as if, through your writing, I am able to connect with you in a much deeper way. I was able to relate with each of the things you said and I’m sure as were others reading this. Disguised behind your witty jokes, there was so much emotion; of gratitude, fear, appreciation, and so much more. This made your piece irrevocably beautiful on its own.

    Thank you for sharing a piece so dear to your heart. For writing something that I’m sure all Grade 12 students are able to connect with. Reading this made me feel an abundance of emotions, all which I am grateful for.

    With Love,
    Eesha

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*