November 13

Experiences

My Experiences: Part 1- High School

 

High school… There is only a couple of months left of it. It is true when they say “high school goes by fast.” “Enjoy the last years of high school, you’re going to miss it.” I never took those words seriously. Time. I never gave the term ‘time’ any thought, I always thought that there was always enough time, enough time to get my grades up, to finish that book for English class, to finish my math homework, anything. Honestly, there is never enough time. Almost 13 years of school completed, and now I know there is not enough time. Now, I know nothing lasts forever and high school guaranteed that for me.

You know what else? I am the worst at saying goodbyes. I always tend to think that a new start will be a bad start. I hate change. I think it is just fear of starting something new, something I am not used to.

I never thought about how drastically my life is really going to change after graduation. Throughout the 13 years of my life, the people I met and grew up with, I came to the realization of how difficult it is going to be, knowing the fact that we are not going to see each other again. “Hope we stay friends after high school,” are we really? Probably not. I guess that is just how it is. Leaving high school is a realization. Realizing what my friends have grew up to be, what they aspire to be, their dreams and ambitions they want to achieve. There is so much more to them that I never knew,  more than I ever thought in all these years.

I know, I can see, the anxiousness, worry, tension, in my classmates and friends. The word ‘university’ makes everyone’s hair rise on the back of their necks, including mine; without being fully aware that there is much more to look forward to after high school. The pressure upon us, from parents, teachers, friends, even from ourselves, take control over our decisions, our aspirations, our wishes without realizing it. The quote “Graduation is not the ending, it is just the beginning,” reminds me of that, the opportunity to gain new experiences, skills, knowledge, relationships. High school is just the beginning. From all I learnt in high school, I understand the importance of the values, beliefs, relationships, knowledge, experiences gained from the dreading years of school. These factors make an individual, whether they are lessons or blessings. High school may be one’s worst or best years of their lives, whatever it may be, they do make you who you are- “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times” -Charles Dickens.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Posted November 13, 2017 by sapnap in category Sapna, Sept 2017, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*